garden1

This is my garden. We’re only recently acquainted. In fact, we’ve known each other precisely three weeks and for most of that time I’ve been working in another city. But I come home at weekends, drop my bag and run to open the back door. Then I take a cup of tea outside and breathe in the jasmine and let my eyes rest on the green and white before me and I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. It took a long time for this garden and I to find each other. There’s a line in a Nick Cave song that goes “Out of sorrow entire worlds have been built. Out of longing great wonders have been willed.” This garden, to me, is the great wonder. Sometimes life can be out of kilter for a long time, for so long that you wonder whether it will ever right itself again. But it does. Whatever happens, keep going. There just might be a perfect garden and a cup of tea waiting for you somewhere down the way.